
Frequently Asked Questions on 
Motor Vehicle & Trailer Excise Tax 

 
Q. What is Motor Vehicle & Trailer Excise Tax and why do I have to pay it? 
 
A. Under Massachusetts Law, every motor vehicle registered in the Commonwealth 

is subject to Motor Vehicle & Trailer Excise Tax every year unless the vehicle is 
expressly exempted from paying this tax by law.  Motor Vehicle & Trailer Excise 
Tax is assessed, under Massachusetts Law, for the privilege of registering a 
Motor Vehicle or Trailer in Massachusetts.  Obtaining a registration and license 
plates from the Massachusetts Registry of Motor Vehicles automatically triggers 
the annual assessment of Excise Tax. 

 
Q. What are my Excise Tax dollars used for? 
 
A. Excise Tax revenues are collected by the town and are considered a “general 

fund receipt” which means that these funds are not “earmarked” for any specific 
use.  These funds are used by the town in the same manner as property taxes 
and any other “general fund receipt” which means that they contribute towards 
almost every service the town provides, such as: Police & Fire Protection; Public 
Education; Building and Maintenance of Public Schools, Buildings and 
Roadways; Elderly Services; Library Services; and many other municipal 
services which are, otherwise, provided by the town at no charge to residents. 

 
Q. What was the tax I paid when I bought my vehicle? 
 
A. Motor Vehicles, like most other purchases in Massachusetts, are subject to the 

Commonwealth’s Sales Tax.  Sales Tax is a different tax from Motor Vehicle & 
Trailer Excise Tax.  Sales Tax Revenues are paid directly to the Commonwealth 
of Massachusetts and are used to contribute to the services and programs 
provided by the Commonwealth.  The town does not receive sales tax revenues, 
and hence, sales taxes do not directly contribute to the services provided by the 
town.   

 
Q. How often should I expect to receive an Excise Tax bill from the town? 
 
A. You should expect to receive one (1) Excise Tax bill relative to each calendar 

year during which  the vehicle is registered.  If the vehicle was not registered for 
the entire year, then the Excise Tax will be pro-rated according to the number of 
months during which the vehicle was registered.  It is important to note that, 
under Massachusetts Law, pro-ration of the Excise Tax is only allowed on a per 
month basis. 

 
Q. How is the amount of my Motor Vehicle & Trailer Excise Tax determined? 
 
A. The amount of the Motor Vehicle & Trailer Excise Tax on any particular vehicle or 

trailer is calculated by multiplying the discounted value*  of the vehicle by the 
Excise Tax Rate of $25.00 per $1,000 in discounted value.  The $25.00 Excise 
Tax Rate applies to all communities in Massachusetts and was established by 
the State Legislature several years ago. 



 
• The Motor Vehicle & Trailer Excise Tax itself is determined as follows: 
 

$25.00 / $1,000 or 
0.025 

x Discounted Value*   
= 

Excise Tax 

 
• It is important to note that, under Massachusetts Law, the minimum Excise 

Tax is $5.00 which means that if the above calculation of the Excise Tax 
results in an amount less than $5.00 then your Excise Tax will be assessed 
as $5.00 

 
• The discounted value* of your vehicle is determined by multiplying the 

Manufacturer’s Suggested Retail Price (MSRP) of your vehicle, when it was 
originally sold by the manufacturer, by the applicable discount rate according 
to the following table: 

 
If the Tax Year is: The Discounted Value* is 

determined          as follows: 

Preceding the Model Year:   0.50  
x 

MSRP   
= 

Discounted Value* 

Same as Model Year:   0.90  
x 

MSRP   
= 

Discounted Value* 

1 year after Model Year:   0.60  
x 

MSRP   
= 

Discounted Value* 

2 years after Model Year:   0.40  
x 

MSRP   
= 

Discounted Value* 

3 years after Model Year:   0.25  
x 

MSRP   
= 

Discounted Value* 

More than 3 years after 
Model Year: 

  0.10  
x 

MSRP   
= 

Discounted Value* 

 
Q. What do I do if I receive an Excise Tax bill from Wilmington, but I am no 

longer living in the Town of Wilmington? 
 
A. Under certain circumstances you may still be required to pay the Excise Tax to 

the Town of Wilmington.  If you do not live in Wilmington when you receive the 
bill, but you did live in the Town of Wilmington either on January 1st of the tax 
year, or when you registered the vehicle or trailer, you should still pay the Excise 
Tax to Wilmington.  You should then contact the Massachusetts Registry of 
Motor Vehicle to change both your mailing address and the city or town in which 
your vehicle is principally garaged.  Both of these items need to be changed with 
the Mass. RMV in order for your new community to issue an Excise Tax bill to 
you rather than Wilmington.  There is a link to the Mass. RMV at the bottom of 
this page. 

 
In any case, if you receive an Excise Tax Bill from the Town of Wilmington please 
pay the bill before the due date.  Once you have paid the Excise Tax, if you are 
entitled to an abatement of the tax, you will be issued a refund.  Do not allow the 
Excise Tax Due Date to pass without taking action to ensure that your obligation 
to the town is satisfied. 



 
Q. What do I do if I feel my Motor Vehicle & Trailer Excise amount is incorrect? 
 
A. You may file for an abatement of your tax with the Board of Assessors.  If you 

contact the Board of Assessors at (978) 658-3675, the Assessors’ staff will be 
able to assist you with any questions you may have relative to completing the 
appropriate forms to file for abatement.  However, please remember that filing for 
abatement of your tax does not stay any collection activity.  You should pay your 
Excise Tax as you were billed and if you are granted an abatement from the 
Board of Assessors, you will receive a credit to your tax bill and, if applicable, a 
refund. 

 
Q. What is the penalty for not paying my Motor Vehicle & Trailer Excise Tax? 
 
A. If your Excise Tax is not cleared by the due date, interest at a rate of 12% per 

annum will be added to the Excise Tax along with a series of fees.   
 
Q. What happens if I do not pay my Excise Tax? 
 
A. If your Motor Vehicle & Trailer Excise Tax obligation is not satisfied, either 

through making payment or receiving an abatement, the bill will be referred to the 
town’s Deputy Tax Collector for further collection activity which includes being 
issued and served with a “Warrant to Collect” your Excise Tax and being 
“Marked” at the Mass. Registry of Motor Vehicles for non-renewal of your Driver’s 
License and Vehicle or Trailer Registration.  It is also important to note that 
several other states have mutual agreements with the Commonwealth to detain 
or impound “Marked” vehicles found in other states when there is an outstanding 
Excise Tax.  Also, your vehicle may be impounded in Massachusetts if you are 
unable to renew your Driver’s License and Vehicle or Trailer registration due to 
an unpaid Excise Tax. 

 
Q. What if I am unable to pay my Motor Vehicle & Trailer Excise Tax Bill? 
 
A. If you are unable to pay your Motor Vehicle & Trailer Excise Tax, please contact 

the Collector’s Office as soon as possible.  While we are unable to eliminate the 
Excise Tax, we are here to help in any way we can and are able to listen to your 
situation and offer possible solutions.  Remember, if your find yourself in this type 
of situation, the sooner you contact us, the better able we are to offer guidance. 

 
 

Do you have another question not answered??? 
You may either email the question directly to the Treasurer/Collector at 

treasurer@town.wilmington.ma.us  
or call the Treasurer/Collector’s Office at (978) 658-3531 

TDD (hearing impaired) 978-6941417 
We will be glad to assist you in any way we can. 

Thank you. 
 

For more information please refer to the following 
Click here for Assessor 

Click here for Registry of Motor Vehicles 


