Summary of Wilmington Property Tax Relief Programs-FY2017

BLIND VETERANS ELDERLY I (/3 ABATEMENT SENIOR v
PROGRAM | EXEMPTION e MET EXEMETION SPOUSE/MINORS | SENIOR WORK: 1) DEFERRAL BREAKER”
NAME M.G.LCh59§5 i i )5 85 M.G.L. Ch.5985Kcl | OFF MGL.Ch.598 GLCNS9SS | TAX CREDIT
a 17D TIR 06-17
Assistance Reduces local Reduces local property | Reduces local property | Reduces local Reduces local Defers payment of | Reduces state
T property tax tax liability for veterans | tax liability of senior property tax liability property tax liability local property tax income taxes owed
ype liability with a service related of Senior, Surviving of senior in exchange | owed by senior (or provides refund
disability and /or certain Spouses and Minors for volunteer service | until house is sold | if none owned) for
medals. Also for the to municipality. or until settlement | senior whose
widows of eligible of estate. property taxes (and
veterans. 50% of
water/sewer
charges) exceeds
10% of income
Eligible Age N/A N/A 70 No age fimit 60 65 65"
0 age limit on .
as of JUIy Ist Surviving Spouse FY 16 #5
Income Limit Single  $20,000 Max. *Single Non-
Married $30,000 Max. N/A Limited Financial HOH: $57,000
Resources Currently Max.
N/A N/A Including Soc. Security: $40,000 Maximum | HOH:
Single $24,523 Max. $71,000 Max.
Married $36,785 Max. Married:
$85,000 Max.
Asset Limit $40,000 if single Asset Limit $50.000 $693,000 of
N/A N/A $50,000 if married Excluding value of N/A N/A assessed valuation
excluding value of domici of domicile if
- omicile
domicile homeowner
Assistance : $800. based on
$500 $400 up to entire tax . . Any amount up to .
Amount exemption :mount $500 exemption $175 exemption $10.00 per hour~ maiimum defzfrral $1,070 Maximum
max 80 hrs
Other Interest rate is Automatic annual

Quialifications

* Must provide
Certificate of
Blindness from
Massachusetts
Commission for

* Must provide letter
from Veteran's
Administration showing
service connected

* Must Own & Occupy
prop for any 5 yrs
* Have been MA
resident for 10
consecutive yrs before
application date

* Seniors Must Own
and Occupy property
as domicile for any 5

yrs.
* Surviving spouse

* Must be Owner or
current spouse
* Must occupy
property for which
taxes are paid

calculated annually
based on the two-
year constant
maturity Treasury
rate as of the start
of each fiscal year.
* The interest rate
for Fiscal Year

increase in income
limits, assessed
valuation and
credit amount by
statute.

*Parameters may
change at end of

- L A
the EJIII;?. :ts of percent disability onléllsoc\)/¥nJ L<J§|Lyoi:sctupy VI\QlleIST(;re\g:on 2017 is 8.00% tax year. Confirm
*Own & occupy | with State taxpayer
prop for 5 yrs service prior to
* MA resident filing taxes.
10yrs
Application File annual File annual application File annual application File annual Applications will be File annual File with state
Procedure application with | with local assessors with local assessors application with local | available in Town application with income taxes —

local assessors

assessors.

Manager's Office on
October 1, 2016.

local assessors

taxpayer service
1-800-392-6089

All clauses are fully explained in Massachusetts General Laws. The Assessors’ Office has brochures on the various programs and exemptions offered.




FOR FURTHER ASSISTANCE:

The staff of the Board of Assessors is
available to assist in answering any
questions or concerns about your
property tax assessment.

Board of Assessors
121 Glen Road

Wilmington, MA 01887

(978)-658-3675
www.wilmingtonma.gov

Monday - Friday
8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.

Property
Tax Relief
Programs

FY2017

Taxpayer Information Guide

TOWN OF WILMINGTON
BOARD OF ASSESSORS
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