Summary of Wilmington Property Tax Relief Programs-FY2022

PROGRAM NAME	BLIND EXEMPTION M.G.L Ch 59 § 5	VETERANS EXEMPTION M.G.L. Ch 59 § 5 Various Clauses	ELDERLY EXEMPTION M.G.L. Ch 59 § 5 cl 41C	ELDERLY/ SURVIVING SPOUSE/ MINORS M.G.L. Ch. 59 § 5 cl 17D	ABATEMENT SENIOR WORK- OFF M.G.L. Ch. 59 § 5K	SENIOR DEFERRAL M.G.L. Ch 59 § 5 cl 41A	SENIOR "CIRCUIT BREAKER" TAX CREDIT TIR 18-10
Assistance Type	Reduces local property tax liability	Reduces local property tax liability for veterans with a service related disability and /or certain medals. Also for the widows of eligible veterans.	Reduces local property tax liability of senior	Reduces local property tax liability of Senior, Surviving Spouses and Minors	Reduces local property tax liability of senior in exchange for volunteer service to municipality.	Defers payment of local property tax owed by senior until house is sold or until settlement of estate.	Reduces state income taxes owed (or provides refund if none owned) for senior whose property taxes (and 50% of water/sewer charges) exceeds 10% of total income
Eligible Age as of July 1st	N/A	N/A	70	70 Senior No age limit on Surviving Spouse	60	65	* 65 by January 1, 2021
Income Limit	N/A	N/A	Single \$20,000 Max. Married \$30,000 Max. Including Soc. Security: Single \$24,911 Max. Married \$37,367 Max.	N/A	Limited Financial Resources	Currently \$40,000 Maximum	* Single Non-HOH: \$61,000 Max. * HOH: \$76,000 Max. *Married file jointly: \$92,000 Max.
Asset Limit	N/A	N/A	\$40,000 if single \$50,000 if married excluding value of domicile	Asset Limit \$50,000 Excluding value of domicile	N/A	N/A	\$848,000 of assessed valuation of domicile if homeowner
Assistance Amount	\$500 exemption	\$400 up to entire tax amount	\$500 exemption	\$187.53 exemption	\$1,140 based on \$14.25 per hour ~ max 80 hrs	Any amount up to maximum deferral	\$1,150 Maximum
Other Qualifications	* Must provide Certificate of Blindness from Massachusetts Commission for the Blind as of July 1st	* Must provide letter from Veteran's Administration showing service connected percent disability. *Residency, ownership requirements also apply *New - If property is in a Trust you must have Beneficial Interest, but do not need to be a Trustee – see Cl 22G	* Must Own & Occupy prop for any 5 yrs * Have been MA resident for 10 consecutive yrs before application date	* Seniors Must Own and Occupy property as domicile for any 5 yrs. * Surviving spouse only own & occupy as of July 1st	* Must be Owner or current spouse * Must occupy property for which taxes are paid * Wilmington Resident	Interest rate is calculated annually based on the two-year constant maturity Treasury rate as of the start of each fiscal year. * The interest rate for Fiscal Year 2021 is 8.00% * Own & occupy prop for 5 yrs * MA resident 10yrs	Automatic annual increase in income limits, assessed valuation and credit amount by statute. * Confirm with State taxpayer service prior to filing taxes.
Application Procedure	File annual application with local assessors	File annual application with local assessors	File annual application with local assessors	File annual application with local assessors.	Applications will be available in Town Manager's Office on October 1, 2021	File annual application with local assessors	File with state income taxes – taxpayer service 1-800-392-6089

All clauses are fully explained in Massachusetts General Laws. The Assessors' Office has brochures on the various programs and exemptions offered.

FOR FURTHER ASSISTANCE:

The staff of the Board of Assessors is available to assist in answering any questions or concerns about your property tax assessment.

Board of Assessors 121 Glen Road

Wilmington, MA 01887

(978)-658-3675 (978)-657-6437 Fax

Email: boa@wilmingtonma.gov

Website:
www.wilmingtonma.gov/assessors-office/pages/exemptions

Monday – Friday 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Property Tax Relief Programs

FY2022

Taxpayer Information Guide



TOWN OF WILMINGTON BOARD OF ASSESSORS