Carter Lecture Fund Committee

Sarah Davis Jaquith was born in Wilmington in 1832 and was married to Cyrus Lewis Carter in 1874.  Before her death in 1907, she made a provision in her will stating, “I give and bequeath to the Town of Wilmington the sum of six thousand dollars in trust to invest the principle sum and to expend the income in maintaining courses of programs for the benefit of the people of Wilmington.”

At the Town Meeting of March 1, 1909 it was voted to accept the bequest.  Daniel T. Buzzell, Caleb S. Harriman, Arthur T. Bond, Robert H. Gowing and James F. Kelley were the original Commissioners.  The first program was held on October 28, 1910.

One hundred years later, the Sarah D. J. Carter Committee has continued to bring to the people of Wilmington interesting and entertaining programs.

Board Members

Name Title
Andrea B. Houser Corresponding Secretary

Committee Members

Adele C. Passmore



Ann H. Berghaus

Recording Secretary


Andrea B. Houser

Corresponding Secretary


Margaret Ann St. Onge


Barbara Bishop